Skip to main content

Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council

The purpose of the council is to advise the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources on the best ways to preserve, protect, expand and improve Wisconsin's urban and community forest resources.

The bylaws [PDF] contain official purpose and goals, membership makeup, officer and committee descriptions, etc.

Meetings

To see archived meeting materials, or if you have questions about the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council, please contact Kirsten Biefeld (Urban Forestry Council Liaison).

All Urban Forestry Council meetings are listed on the DNR's public meeting site.

Regular voting members

Member position description [PDF]

Ms. Katie Aspenson
Representing city planners
Planning Manager, City of Onalaska
kaspenson@onalaskawi.gov

Mr. Michael Bablick
Representing League of Municipalities
Mayor, City of Park Falls
mayor@cityofparkfalls.com

Dr. Kirsten Beyer
Representing higher education
Associate Professor, Division of Epidemiology; Director, PhD Program in Public & Community Health, Medical College of Wisconsin
UW-Milwaukee: Adjunct Assistant Professor, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
kbeyer@mcw.edu

Ms. Wendy Braun, PE
Member-at-large representing stormwater issues
North American Stormwater & Erosion Association
Stormwater Engineer, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
wendy.braun@dot.wi.gov

Ms. Linda Cadotte
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from medium sized communities
Director of Parks, Recreation & Forestry, City of Superior
CadotteL@ci.superior.wi.us

Mr. Jeff Edgar
Representing the nursery/green industry
Owner, Silver Creek Nurseries
trees@silvercreeknurseries.com

Mr. Lee Fredericks
Representing elected officials and commercial arborists
Village Trustee, Village of Slinger
Western Great Lakes Territory Manager, Rainbow Ecoscience
lfredericks@treecarescience.com

Dr. Tricia Gorby
Representing higher education
Director, Natural Resources Institute, UW-Madison Division of Extension
tricia.gorby@wisc.edu

Mr. Keith Hardie
Member-at-large representing interested Wisconsin citizens
Department of Public Works, City of Cumberland (retired)
ckhardie@gmail.com

Mr. Randy Krouse
Representing large cities
City Forester, City of Milwaukee
Randy.krouse@milwaukee.gov

Mr. Matthew Koepnick, Vice Chair
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from medium sized communities and the Society of Municipal Arborists
Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services Department, City of Racine
Society of Municipal Arborists
Matthew.Koepnick@cityofracine.org

Ms. Shirley Brabender Mattox
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
smattox@ameritech.net

Mr. Brian Pelot
Representing the Wisconsin Arborist Association
City Forester, City of Green Bay
Brian.pelot@greenbaywi.gov

Mr. Ben Reince
Representing mid-sized cities
Executive Vice President, Wachtel Tree Science
Breince@wachteltree.com

Ms. Sarah Repp
Representing the Wisconsin Park & Recreation Association
Director of Park, Recreation and Cemetery, City of Antigo
srepp@antigo-city.org

Mr. August Ridder
Representing utility arborists
Program Manager Vegetation Management, Xcel Energy
August.h.ridder@xcelenergy.com

Ms. Christa Schaefer
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
State Transportation Landscape Architect, WDOT
Christa.Schaefer@dot.wi.gov

Mr. Jordan Skiff, Past Chair
Representing public works
Wastewater Superintendent, City of Sheboygan
Jordan.Skiff@sheboyganwi.gov 

Mr. Dwayne Sperber
Member-at-large representing urban wood utilization
Owner, Wudeward Urban Forest Products, LLC
dwayne@wudeward.com

Mr. Matthew Staudenmaier
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities under 100,000
Forestry Department Supervisor, City of Eau Claire
matt.staudenmaier@eauclairewi.gov

Mr. Jonathan Stickels
Representing the nursery/green industry
Mariani Plants
jstickels@marianiplants.com

Mr. Alex Timmer
Member-at-Large representing architect/wood using industries
Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning
timmer@uwm.edu

Ms. Sarah Toomsen
Representing the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects
Manager of Planning & Development, Milwaukee County Parks
Sarah.toomsen@milwaukeecountywi.gov

Mr. Jeffery Treu
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
Regional Forester, WE Energies Regional Forester (retired)
jmtreu1@hotmail.com

Dr. Shahla M. Werner, Chair
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
Plant Protection Section Chief, DATCP
shahla.werner@wisconsin.gov

Mr. Rex Zemke
Representing interested Wisconsin citizens
District Groundskeeper, Wausau School District
rzemke@wausauschools.org

Nonvoting members

Ms. Kirsten Biefeld
WDNR Forestry Division                                                                                                                                                              Urban Forestry Council Liaison and Outreach Specialist
Kirsten.Biefeld@wisconsin.gov

Ms. Jill Johnson
Representing the USDA Forest Service
Midwest Urban Forestry Coordinator, USFS
jill.johnson@usda.gov

Mr. Jeff Roe
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Team Leader
Jeffrey.Roe@wisconsin.gov

Ms. Patricia Lindquist
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Coordinator
Patricia.Lindquist@wisconsin.gov