Skip to main content

Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council

The purpose of the council is to advise the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources on the best ways to preserve, protect, expand and improve Wisconsin's urban and community forest resources.

The bylaws [PDF] contain official purpose and goals, membership makeup, officer and committee descriptions, etc.


To see archived meeting materials, or if you have questions about the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council, please contact Jenn Janness (Urban Forestry Council Liaison).

All Urban Forestry Council meetings are listed on the DNR's public meeting site.

Regular voting members

Member position description [PDF]

Katie Aspenson
Representing city planners
Planning Manager, City of Onalaska

Dr. Kirsten Beyer
Representing higher education
Associate Professor, Division of Epidemiology; Director, PhD Program in Public & Community Health, Medical College of Wisconsin
UW-Milwaukee: Adjunct Assistant Professor, Geography, UW-Milwaukee

Wendy Braun, PE
Member-at-large representing environmental groups
North American Stormwater & Erosion Association
Stormwater Engineer, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Linda Cadotte, Vice Chair
Representing small communities
Director of Parks, Recreation & Forestry, City of Superior

Travis Derks
Representing the Wisconsin Park and Recreation Association
Landscape Operations Manager, City of Oshkosh

Jeff Edgar
Representing the nursery/green industry
Owner, Silver Creek Nurseries

Lee Fredericks
Representing elected officials 
Village Trustee, Village of Slinger
Western Great Lakes Territory Manager, Rainbow Ecoscience

Dr. Tricia Gorby
Representing higher education
Director, Natural Resources Institute, UW-Madison Division of Extension

Randy Krouse
Representing large communities
City Forester, City of Milwaukee

Matthew Koepnick, Chair
Representing the Society of Municipal Arborists
Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services Department, City of Racine
Society of Municipal Arborists

Michael Lawrenz
Representing the Wisconsin Arborist Association
Arborist, Hoppe Tree Service

Paul Morrison
Representing the Urban Wood Network
Owner, The Wood Cycle of Wisconsin

Brian Pelot
Representing medium-sized communities
City Forester, City of Green Bay

Robin Powers
Representing the League of Wisconsin Municipalities
Director Of Marketing & Administration, League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Ben Reince
Representing commercial arborists
Executive Vice President, Wachtel Tree Science

August Ridder
Representing utility arborists
Program Manager Vegetation Management, Xcel Energy

Christa Schaefer
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
State Transportation Landscape Architect, WDOT

Jordan Skiff
Representing public works
Wastewater Superintendent, City of Sheboygan 

Matthew Staudenmaier
Representing medium-sized communities
Forestry Department Supervisor, City of Eau Claire

Jonathan Stickels
Representing the nursery/green industry
Mariani Plants

Sarah Toomsen
Representing the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects
Manager of Planning & Development, Milwaukee County Parks

Jeffery Treu
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
Regional Forester, WE Energies Regional Forester (retired)

Dr. Shahla M. Werner, Past Chair
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
Plant Protection Section Chief, DATCP

Rex Zemke
Representing interested Wisconsin citizens
District Groundskeeper, Wausau School District

Nonvoting members

Jill Johnson
Representing the USDA Forest Service
Midwest Urban Forestry Coordinator, USFS

Jeff Roe
Wisconsin DNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Team Leader

Patricia Lindquist
Wisconsin DNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Coordinator

Laura Buntrock
Wisconsin DNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Partnership & Policy Specialist

Jenn Janness
Wisconsin DNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Council Liaison