Skip to main content

Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council

The purpose of the council is to advise the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources on the best ways to preserve, protect, expand and improve Wisconsin's urban and community forest resources.

The bylaws [PDF] contain official purpose and goals, membership makeup, officer and committee descriptions, etc.

Meetings

To see archived meeting materials, or if you have questions about the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council, please contact Sara Minkoff (Urban Forestry Council Liaison) or Jeff Roe (Urban Forestry Team Leader).

All Urban Forestry Council meetings are listed on the DNR's public meeting site. To sign up to receive notifications for meetings, go here.

Regular voting members

Member position description [PDF].

Dr. Kirsten Beyer
Representing higher education
Medical College of Wisconsin
kbeyer@mcw.edu

Ms. Wendy Braun, PE
Member-at-large representing stormwater issues
North American Stormwater & Erosion Association
Wisconsin Department of Transportation Stormwater Engineer
wendy.braun@dot.wi.gov

Ms. Linda Cadotte
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from medium sized communities
Director of Parks, Recreation & Forestry, City of Superior
CadotteL@ci.superior.wi.us

Ms. Patty Dreier 
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
Elected Official (retired)
tpdreier@charter.net

Ms. Marla Eddy
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities over 200,000
City Forester, City of Madison
meddy@cityofmadison.com

Mr. Mark Freberg
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities over 100,000
City Forester, City of Green Bay
MarkFr@greenbaywi.gov

Mr. Lee Fredericks
Representing elected officials and commercial arborists
Village Trustee, Village of Slinger
Rainbow Treecare Scientific Advancements
lfredericks@treecarescience.com

Dr. Tricia Gorby
Representing higher education
UW-Madison, Division of Extension, Natural Resources Institute
tricia.gorby@wisc.edu

Mr. Keith Hardie
Member-at-large representing interested Wisconsin citizens
Department of Public Works (retired)
ckhardie@gmail.com

Mr. August Hoppe, Chair
Representing commercial arborists
Hoppe Tree Service
info@hoppetreeservice.com

Mr. Matthew Koepnick
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from medium sized communities and the Society of Municipal Arborists
Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services Department, City of Racine
Society of Municipal Arborists
Matthew.Koepnick@cityofracine.org

Mr. Abe Lenoch
Member-at-large representing volunteer, service or environmental organizations
1000 Friends of Wisconsin
alenoch@1kfriends.org

Ms. Shirley Brabender Mattox
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
smattox@ameritech.net

Mr. Ben Reince
Representing the Wisconsin Arborist Association
Wachtel Tree Science
Breince@wachteltree.com

Ms. Sarah Repp
Representing the Wisconsin Park & Recreation Association
Park, Recreation and Cemetery Director, City of Antigo
srepp@antigo-city.org

Ms. Christa Schaefer
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
State Transportation Landscape Architect, WDOT
Christa.Schaefer@dot.wi.gov

Mr. Daniel Siewert
Representing utility arborists
Wisconsin Public Service Line Clearance Coordinator
DESiewert@wisconsinpublicservice.com

Mr. Jordan Skiff, Past Chair
Representing public works
Director of Public Works, City of Fond du Lac
jskiff@fdl.wi.gov

Mr. Dwayne Sperber
Member-at-large representing urban wood utilization
Wudeward Urban Forest Products, LLC
dwayne@wudeward.com

Mr. Matthew Staudenmaier
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities under 100,000
Forestry Department Supervisor, City of Eau Claire
matt.staudenmaier@eauclairewi.gov

Ms. Gail Sumi
Representing the League of Wisconsin Municipalities
Member Engagement and Communications Director, LWM
gsumi@lwm-info.org

Mr. Blake Theisen, PLA, ASLA, CPSI
Representing the Wisconsin Chapter of American Society of Landscape Architects
Parkitecture + Planning
blake@parkitecture.org

Dr. Nilesh Timilsina
Representing higher education
College of Natural Resources, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Nilesh.Timilsina@uwsp.edu

Mr. Alex Timmer
Representing higher education
Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning
timmer@uwm.edu

Mr. Jeffery Treu
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
Utility Arborist (retired)
jmtreu1@hotmail.com

Dr. Shahla M. Werner, Vice Chair
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
Plant Protection Section Chief, DATCP
shahla.werner@wisconsin.gov

Mr. Jeff Wolters
Representing Wisconsin Nursery and Landscape Association
Johnson’s Nursery
jeff@johnsonsnursery.com

Nonvoting members

Ms. Jill Johnson
Representing the USDA Forest Service
Midwest Urban Forestry Coordinator, USFS
jill.johnson@usda.gov

Mr. Don Kissinger
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Coordinator Representative
Don.Kissinger@wisconsin.gov

Ms. Laura Lorentz
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Partnership & Policy Specialist
laura.lorentz@wi.gov

Ms. Sara Minkoff
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Council Liaison
Sara.Minkoff@wi.gov

Mr. Jeff Roe
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Team Leader
Jeffrey.Roe@wi.gov