Skip to main content

Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council

The purpose of the council is to advise the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources on the best ways to preserve, protect, expand and improve Wisconsin's urban and community forest resources.

The bylaws [PDF] contain official purpose and goals, membership makeup, officer and committee descriptions, etc.

Meetings

To see archived meeting materials, or if you have questions about the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council, please contact Sara Minkoff (Urban Forestry Council Liaison) or Jeff Roe (Urban Forestry Team Leader).

All Urban Forestry Council meetings are listed on the DNR's public meeting site. To sign up to receive notifications for meetings, go here.

Regular voting members

Member position description [PDF]

Ms. Katie Aspenson
Representing city planners
kaspenson@onalaskawi.gov

Dr. Kirsten Beyer
Representing higher education
Medical College of Wisconsin
kbeyer@mcw.edu

Ms. Wendy Braun, PE
Member-at-large representing stormwater issues
North American Stormwater & Erosion Association
Wisconsin Department of Transportation Stormwater Engineer
wendy.braun@dot.wi.gov

Ms. Linda Cadotte
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from medium sized communities
Director of Parks, Recreation & Forestry, City of Superior
CadotteL@ci.superior.wi.us

Ms. Marla Eddy
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities over 200,000
City Forester, City of Madison
meddy@cityofmadison.com

Mr. Jeff Edgar
Representing the nursery/green industry
trees@silvercreeknurseries.com

Mr. Mark Freberg
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities over 100,000
City Forester, City of Green Bay (retired)
markfrebs@gmail.com

Mr. Lee Fredericks
Representing elected officials and commercial arborists
Village Trustee, Village of Slinger
Rainbow Treecare Scientific Advancements
lfredericks@treecarescience.com

Dr. Tricia Gorby
Representing higher education
UW-Madison, Division of Extension, Natural Resources Institute
tricia.gorby@wisc.edu

Mr. Keith Hardie
Member-at-large representing interested Wisconsin citizens
Department of Public Works (retired)
ckhardie@gmail.com

Mr. August Hoppe, Past Chair
Representing commercial arborists
Hoppe Tree Service
info@hoppetreeservice.com

Mr. Matthew Koepnick, Vice Chair
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from medium sized communities and the Society of Municipal Arborists
Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services Department, City of Racine
Society of Municipal Arborists
Matthew.Koepnick@cityofracine.org

Ms. Shirley Brabender Mattox
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
smattox@ameritech.net

Mr. Ben Reince
Representing the Wisconsin Arborist Association
Wachtel Tree Science
Breince@wachteltree.com

Ms. Sarah Repp
Representing the Wisconsin Park & Recreation Association
Director of Park, Recreation and Cemetery, City of Antigo
srepp@antigo-city.org

Mr. August Ridder
Representing utility arborists
August.h.ridder@xcelenergy.com

Ms. Christa Schaefer
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
State Transportation Landscape Architect, WDOT
Christa.Schaefer@dot.wi.gov

Mr. Jordan Skiff
Representing public works
Director of Public Works, City of Fond du Lac
jskiff@fdl.wi.gov

Mr. Dwayne Sperber
Member-at-large representing urban wood utilization
Wudeward Urban Forest Products, LLC
dwayne@wudeward.com

Mr. Matthew Staudenmaier
Representing municipal arborists/foresters from communities under 100,000
Forestry Department Supervisor, City of Eau Claire
matt.staudenmaier@eauclairewi.gov

Mr. Jonathan Stickels
Representing the nursery/green industry
jstickels@marianiplants.com

Ms. Gail Sumi
Representing the League of Wisconsin Municipalities
Member Engagement and Communications Director, LWM
gsumi@lwm-info.org"

Mr. Alex Timmer
Member-at-Large representing architect/wood using industries
Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning
timmer@uwm.edu

Ms. Sarah Toomsen
Representing the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects
Sarah.toomsen@milwaukeecountywi.gov

Mr. Jeffery Treu
Member-at-large representing statewide natural resources advocates
Utility Arborist (retired)
jmtreu1@hotmail.com

Dr. Shahla M. Werner, Chair
Representing the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
Plant Protection Section Chief, DATCP
shahla.werner@wisconsin.gov

Mr. Rex Zemke

Representing interested Wisconsin citizens
rzemke@wausauschools.org

Nonvoting members

Ms. Jill Johnson
Representing the USDA Forest Service
Midwest Urban Forestry Coordinator, USFS
jill.johnson@usda.gov

Ms. Sara Minkoff
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Council Liaison
Sara.Minkoff@wi.gov

Mr. Jeff Roe
WDNR Forestry Division
Urban Forestry Team Leader
Jeffrey.Roe@wi.gov