Skip to main content

Ice Age National Scientific Reserve

Wisconsin State Park System

The Ice Age National Scientific Reserve was established in 1964 to protect, preserve and interpret world-class glacial landforms and landscapes. The reserve is an affiliated area of the National Park System and consists of nine units across Wisconsin. The reserve units showcase different areas of scenic and scientific value and provide all kinds of opportunities, from studying Wisconsin’s natural history at one of the interpretive centers to hiking, camping, sightseeing and wildlife viewing.

  1. Interstate Park, Saint Croix Falls
  2. Chippewa Moraine, six miles north of Bloomer
  3. Mill Bluff State Park, northwest of Camp Douglas
  4. Devil's Lake State Park, three miles south of Baraboo
  5. Cross Plains, three miles southeast of Cross Plains
  6. Horicon State Wildlife Area and National Wildlife Refuge [exit DNR], north of Horicon
  7. Campbellsport Drumlins, three miles west of Campbellsport
  8. Kettle Moraine State Forest - Northern Unit, 20 miles west of Sheboygan
  9. Two Creeks Buried Forest, 12 miles north of Two Rivers

In recognition of the National Park Service’s important role in the reserve, the Ice Age Reserve units honor some National Park system passes (annual, senior, accessible, military and volunteer passes), but do not issue them.

Geology of the Ice Age National Scientific Reserve in Wisconsin [exit DNR]

Ice Age National Scientific Reserve - 2023 Annual Report [PDF]