Skip to main content

Basic Information

Totogatic Wild River

Location and Directions

The Totogatic Wild River designation includes nearly 70 miles of the Totogatic River from the outlet of Totogatic Lake in Bayfield County, through Sawyer, Washburn, and Douglas counties to its mouth at the Namekagon River in Burnett County.

Four impoundments along the Totogatic River's path were exempted from the designation since three have already been developed with buildings and all areas have a dam, which requires maintenance and repair with heavy equipment. The impoundments create Nelson Lake in Sawyer County, the Totogatic Flowage in Sawyer County and the Colton and the Minong Flowages in Washburn County.


The property is open from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Explore the Area

Nearby state properties