Skip to main content

Organizational Structure

Wisconsin Conservation Congress


The Public

Wisconsin citizens have a local avenue for input and exchange concerning conservation issues through WCC on a local and statewide level.

Local County Delegates, County Chairs, and Vice-Chairs

The Conservation Congress shall have representation in each county. There shall be five elected delegates from each county. Individuals who have the majority vote in their county shall become a delegate from their county. County delegates are elected to serve a two or three-year term as a county delegate. Delegates of the county at the Annual Spring Rules Hearings and Conservation Congress County Meeting will elect a chair and vice-chair to represent their county to serve a one-year term.

Advisory Committees

All advisory committees shall have set responsibilities and goals that consist of addressing citizen concerns; reviewing, studying and recommending to the District Leadership Council on assigned resolutions and review of Department opinions and positions regarding specific areas directly pertaining to the advisory committee. In order to make the most efficient use of time by delegates, the following advisory committees with specific responsibilities are established.

District Level and District Leadership Council

The state is broken down into 11 districts. The Conservation Congress shall have a 22 person District Leadership Council that is comprised of two delegates from each district to serve as district councilors. Delegates from each district will elect two delegates from within each district on Friday at the annual Conservation Congress convention in May of each calendar year to one-year terms. District councilors shall be elected from all county committee persons and not more than one councilor shall be elected per county.

Executive Committee

The Executive Council will elect a chair, vice-chair, secretary, public relations officer and historian from within the District Leadership Council on Friday at the annual Conservation Congress convention in May of each calendar year to one-year terms.

Natural Resources Board

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board (NR Board) sets policy for the Department of Natural Resources and exercises authority and responsibility in accordance with governing statutory provisions. Chapter 15 of the Wisconsin Statutes delineates the formal duties of the seven-member board. Board members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate.