Skip to main content

Board member information

Chapter 15 of the Wisconsin Statutes establishes the 7-member Natural Resources Board and describes its duties. Board members are nominated by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate for 6-year terms. Under the law, 3 members are appointed from the territory north of a line running east and west through the south limits of Stevens Point, 3 members from the territory south of the line and 1 member from the state at large.

2011 Wisconsin Act 149 states that beginning May 1, 2017, at least 1 Board member must have an agricultural background and at least 3 Board members must have held a hunting, fishing, or trapping license in at least 7 of the 10 years before the year of nomination except if an individual served on active duty in the U.S. armed forces or national guard during the 10 years previous to the year in which the individual is nominated, the number of years in which the individual is required to have held an annual hunting, fishing, or trapping license equals 7 minus the number of years of active duty served during those 10 years. Terms expire on May 1.


Board Member biographies as of August 27, 2021.

Email to Board members

Due to spam and virus issues, please send email for Board members to the Board Liaison, who will forward it to Board members for their consideration.

Gregory Kazmierski, Chair

President and Owner, Buck Rub Outfitters Ltd. Appointed May 1, 2011; term expires May 1, 2023.

N13 W28400 Silvernail Rd.
Pewaukee WI 53072

William Bruins, Vice Chair

Owner and Operator, Homeland Dairy. Appointed May 1, 2011; term expires May 1, 2023.

N2899 State Highway 49
Waupun WI 53963

Bill Smith, Secretary

Past Board Member for Natural Resources Foundation of Wisconsin and (retired) Natural Resources Manager. Appointed June 27, 2019. Term expires May 1, 2025.

202 Donovan Cove Road
Shell Lake WI 54871

Sharon Adams

HN Development. Appointed May 1, 2021; term expires May 1, 2027.

2247 N 17 Street
Milwaukee, WI  53205

Terry Hilgenberg

Broker, Coldwell Banker The Real Estate Group, and President, Hilgenberg Realtors. Appointed May 1, 2011. Term expires May 1, 2023.

PO Box 555
Shawano WI 54166
715-526-6148 (Office)

Dr. Frederick Prehn

Prehn Dental Office and Docs Weapons, LLC. Appointed May 18, 2015; term expires May 1, 2021.

413 Jefferson Street
Wausau, WI 54403

Marcy West

Director, WEDC Office Rural Prosperity. Appointed January 29, 2020. Term expires May 1, 2025.

E. 14127 County Road P
La Farge, WI 54639

Issue Coordinator: Air, Waste, Water Management, and Enforcement

William Bruins

Issue Co-Coordinators: Land Management, Recreation, Fisheries, and Wildlife

Greg Kazmierski

Contact information
For NRB-related questions, information requests, written comment submittal, or registration to speak at an NRB meeting or listening session, please contact:
NRB Liaison
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707-7921
The Natural Resources Board and Department of Natural Resources are committed to serving people with disabilities. If you need Board information in an alternative format, please email or call the Board Liaison.