Free Fishing Weekend
Free Fishing Weekend June 4-5, 2022
Wisconsin is home to 49 state parks, 15 state forests, 44 state trails, 84,000 miles of rivers and streams, roughly 15,000 lakes and so much more. No matter how you'd like to explore, there's something in Wisconsin for everyone.
No Tackle? No Problem!
Wisconsin has more than 50 tackle loaner sites and many of them have ice fishing gear that you can borrow. Office hours vary by site, so contact the loaner site and plan ahead to pick up the gear.
Tried Fishing and Loved It? Get Your License Now.
Mark Your Calendar
Free Fishing Weekends are always held the third full weekend in January and the first full weekend in June.
Upcoming dates: June 4-5, 2022 and January 21-22, 2023.
Find A Free Fishing Workshop Or Clinic Happening Near You
Free workshops and clinics are held across the state to help you learn how to fish during Free Fishing Weekend. Don't see an event happening in your area? Keep checking back as we update the list regularly.
- Barron County
- June 4, 2022 10 a.m. – noon
- Veterans Park on Lakeshore Drive, Rice Lake
- Food and drinks for $0.25 and many, many prizes
- Bayfield County
- June 4, 2022 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.
- David R. Obey Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, 29270 County Highway G, Ashland, WI 54806
- A family-friendly event with hands-on activities for people of all ages. Participants will also learn about invasive species and water safety
- Dodge County - Fish N Fun
- June 4, 2022 9 a.m.
- Edgewater Park, 200 Starkweather Drive, Beaver Dam, WI 53916
- For children ages 4-12. Check-in starts at 8:30 a.m. and clinics start at 9:15 a.m. Register online or call 920-356-1200 and leave a message with your child’s name(s) and age(s), the accompanying adult’s name, phone number and email
- Fond du Lac County - Get Outdoors! Go... Learn to Fish Rodeo
- June 4, 2022 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.
- Mauthe Lake Recreation Area at Kettle Moraine State Forest - Northern Unit
- Meet at the fishing pier. The rodeo includes games and activities. After completing the rodeo, experienced anglers on the fishing pier will help hone your newly acquired skills. Special surprises and prizes await all who participate. Fishing gear will be provided for those who need it or bring your own gear.
- Fond du Lac County - Fascinating Fish Drop-In At The Beach
- Juneau County - Learn To Fish With Friends Of Buckhorn State Park
- June 4, 2022 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.
- Kid's Pond at Buckhorn State Park
- Learn to fish, play backyard bass and catch fish in the pond, with lunch provided – registration not necessary
- Ozaukee County - Learn To Fish
- June 4, 2022 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
- Puckett's Pond at Harrington Beach State Park
- Fishing equipment, lunch and giveaways provided – registration not necessary
- Polk County - We Support Recovery Event
- June 4, 2022 10 a.m.
- Parkside Shelter at Coon Lake Park, 300-322 Lake Ave S, Frederic, WI 54837
- A family fun event for people in recovery from addiction and their families. Enjoy free fishing followed by a fish fry at noon. Bring your own poles and bait to fish off the dock or the boardwalk
- Portage County - Cops-N-Bobbers
- June 4, 2022 9 a.m. – noon
- Bukolt Park, Stevens Point, WI
- Registration is required by May 20[exit DNR]
- Sheboygan County - Mill Pond Fisheree
- June 4, 2022 8 a.m. – 1 p.m.
- Mill Pond, Sheboygan, WI
- Launch bobbers down the river for a race for cash. Our hopes are every child goes home with a prize, and we have nice bucket raffles for the adults. Children 12 and under are free, 13 and up are $5. Register by the observation deck on the south side of the Mill Pond.
- Walworth County - Kids Fishing Derby
- June 4, 2022 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.
- Lakeside Beach on Pell Lake
- Free food, drinks, prizes and trophies
- Walworth County - Lake Geneva Fishing Club's 31st Annual Event
- June 4, 2022 9 a.m. – 2 p.m.
- The lagoon at Big Foot Beach State Park
- Lunch, snacks and beverages for kids up to age 15. Plenty of prizes for all kids while quantities last. Bring your own fishing tackle but the club will provide loaner fishing equipment and bait while supplies last. Club members will be available to teach fishing preparation and successful techniques and assist with fishing and landing fish. Kids must be accompanied by a parent or a responsible adult at least 21 years old to participate.