Skip to main content

Fatality Summary, Annual Reports and Incident Reporting

ATV riding in Wisconsin

Crash Incident Reports

Each year, the Department of Natural Resources maintains a summary of fatal incidents in the Fatality Summaries. In addition, the Annual Program Report contains information regarding registration, safety tips, number of safety students and instructors, number of fatal and non-fatal crashes and types of and factors involved with fatal crashes. A complete copy of the most recent annual report is available below, and may also be requested by email (please provide a U.S. postal service mailing address).

2021 ATV Crash Incident Report [PDF]

2020 ATV Crash Incident Report [PDF]

2019 ATV Crash Incident Report [PDF]

2018 ATV Crash Incident Report [PDF]

2017 ATV Crash Incident Report [PDF]

Reporting ATV Incidents

An all-terrain vehicle, utility terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle crash incident is any incident (regardless of the number of vehicles involved) that results in a fatality or an injury that requires medical treatment by a physician.

Wisconsin law requires every operator involved in a crash incident to report the incident without delay to law enforcement officials. In addition, within 10 days of the incident, the operator must submit a written report on Form 4100-174 [PDF] to the DNR.

Some visitors to this site have reported having difficulty when attempting to open the crash incident report in their internet browser. The online fillable form is designed to work with Microsoft Explorer.

If you experience difficulty in viewing or downloading forms on this site, read our site requirements to learn how to improve your experience on the DNR web site.

If you are unable to download the PDF form above, forms are also available from DNR offices, sheriff's departments and many local police departments. Additionally, forms may be requested at the address below or by email.

Mail completed forms to:

WI Department of Natural Resources
Safety Section - LE/8
PO Box 7921
Madison WI 53707

Failure to comply with the above requirements is punishable by a penalty of up to $326.

Pursuant to Section 64.10, Wis. Adm. Code, this report may not be used as evidence in a trial.