Skip to main content

About WNR magazine

Wisconsin Natural Resources magazine started as The Wisconsin Conservationist in 1919. Since then, there have been several name and design changes, but for almost 100 years, Wisconsin's natural resources agency has produced a magazine to keep the department in touch with Wisconsin residents and visitors.

WNR magazine changed from a bimonthly to a quarterly publication in 2018, arriving in mailboxes with Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter issues. Magazine stories encourage readers to participate in outdoor activities, appreciate a healthy outdoor environment and contribute to its welfare. WNR magazine is published by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, 101 S. Webster St., Madison, WI 53703. WNR magazine is sustained through paid subscriptions. No tax money is used.

Postmaster and readers

Send subscription questions and address changes to Wisconsin Natural Resources magazine, PO Box 37971, Boone, IA 50037-0971. Subscriptions are $8.97 for one year, $15.97 for two years and $21.97 for three years. Toll-free subscription inquiries will be answered at 1-800-678-9472.

Story and photo submissions are welcome, but the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources assumes no responsibility for loss or damage to unsolicited manuscripts or illustrative material. Viewpoints of authors do not necessarily represent the opinion or policies of the state of Wisconsin, the Natural Resources Board or the Department of Natural Resources. See Freelance Guidelines.

Our magazine is printed in the U.S. on recycled paper using soy-based inks in the interest of our readers and our philosophy to foster stronger recycling markets in Wisconsin.

Magazine production team

Katie Grant Communications Director
Andi Sedlacek Publications Supervisor
Molly Meister Publications Supervisor
Andrea Zani Managing Editor
Schumann Printers Printing

Natural Resources Board

Bill Smith Shell Lake, Chair
Paul Buhr Viroqua
Douglas Cox Keshena
Deb Dassow Cedarburg
Patty Schachtner Somerset
Robin Schmidt La Crosse
Marcy West La Farge

Department of Natural Resources

Tony Evers Governor
Steven Little Deputy Secretary
Mark Aquino Assistant Deputy Secretary