Skip to main content

Consultants with TRE experience in Wisconsin

A "toxicity reduction evaluation" (TRE) is a study intended to determine those actions necessary to remove toxicity. A TRE may identify a simple solution such as improved housekeeping procedures or require a more extensive investigation to identify cost-effective treatment or source reduction options. A "toxicity identification evaluation (TIE)" is one step in the TRE, where effluent samples are manipulated to remove suspect compounds and then retested to see if toxicity remains.

The following is a partial list of consultants who have performed successful TRE investigations for Wisconsin permittees in the recent past (and have submitted results to the DNR or have otherwise made the DNR aware of these studies). This list is not an official endorsement or recommendation by the department. The department does not have the authority to certify or register laboratories to conduct TREs. This is merely a listing of consultants that have been involved in successful TRE investigations where a cause or source was found and toxicity issues resolved. This list is updated as the department becomes aware of new consultants experienced in performing TREs. If you wish to add or change information on this list, please send supporting information to: Biomonitoring Coordinator, Bureau of Water Quality, 101 S. Webster St., PO Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707-7921


Laboratory
Consultant Name/Contact
Address Phone Email
Environmental Consulting & Testing
Patrick Poirier or Katie Wormer
1423 N 8th St
Superior, WI 54880
(715) 392-6635
ppoirier@ectesting.com
kwormer@ectesting.com
Great Lakes Environmental Center Inc.
Traverse City, Michigan, Operation

Mailee Garton or Dennis McCauley
739 Hastings St
Traverse City, MI 49686
(231) 941-2230
mgarton@glec.com
dmccauley@glec.com
Great Lakes Environmental Center Inc.
Columbus, Ohio, Operation

Christopher Tarr
1295 King Ave
Columbus, OH 43212
(614) 487-1040
ctarr@glec.com
Ramboll
Liza Heise
201 Summit View Dr
Lower Level
Brentwood, TN 37027
(615) 277-7517
lheise@ramboll.com
REI Consultants Inc.
Ed J. Kirk
Beaver, WV 25813
(304) 255-2500
ekirk@reiclabs.com
Sanders & Associates
Dave Sanders
6065 West Shore Rd
Land O'Lakes, WI 54540
(715) 547-6720
sandersdf8@gmail.com