Skip to main content

Coon Creek Fishery Area

DNR Fisheries Areas

Coon Creek
The Coon Creek Fishery Area comprises several properties in Vernon, Monroe, and La Crosse County along Coon Creek and its tributaries. Included are sub-properties Bohemian Valley (La Crosse County), Rullands Coulee (Monroe County), and parcels adjacent to Chaseburg, along State Hwy 162 and Koll Road, along Spring Coulee, and along Timber Coulee (Vernon County).

Coon Creek, Bohemian Valley Creek, Timber Coulee Creek, Spring Coulee Creek, and Rulland Creek are all class 1 trout streams. The upland habitat consists of a mix of hardwoods, pine and underbrush. Deer, squirrels, wild turkeys, cottontail rabbits, wood ducks, and woodcock are game species that inhabit the area.


Coon Creek Fishery Area includes several parcels in northeast Vernon County along State Hwy 162 and County Hwy P, in southwest Monroe County along Oakdale Avenue, and in southeast La Crosse County along County Hwy G.


Angling opportunities

shore and wading fishing

Recreational Opportunities

  • Hunting
  • Trapping
  • Hiking
  • Wildlife viewing
  • Fishing
  • Bird watching
  • Berry and Mushroom Picking


The Coon Creek Fishery Area is managed to protect the public trust, enhance coldwater fishery (game and non-game), and provide outdoor recreational opportunities.


For questions and comments contact:

Senior Fisheries Biologist
Bureau of Fisheries Management
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
3550 Mormon Coulee Rd.
La Crosse, WI 54601