

Wisconsin State Trail Pass Vendor Handbook 2024

As a State Trail Pass vendor, you offer a valuable service. The State Trail Pass gives your customers the opportunity to experience and enjoy many miles of DNR (Department of Natural Resources) trails throughout the state of Wisconsin. The State Trail Pass is required for all individuals age 16 or older who are in-line skating, roller skiing, roller blading, horseback riding, off-road motorcycling, bicycling, cross-country skiing, and using any other vehicle or means of conveyance (with the exception of snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles) on certain designated trails. Trail passes are not required for hiking, walking, or running, or for the physically disabled using wheelchairs (defined as pedestrians under Wisconsin State Statute 340.01(43)). Trail passes can be purchased at all state parks and trails that require the pass as well as at DNR Service Centers, in addition to a network of private retailers and counties who sell the passes.

State Trail Pass Prices

Annual Trail Pass: \$25 Daily Trail Pass: \$5

BECOMING A WISCONSIN STATE TRAIL PASS VENDOR

Becoming a Trail Pass Vendor is a fairly simple process. Once approved you will be assigned a Trail Pass Vendor Account, as well as trail pass inventory which you are responsible for selling, maintaining, and remitting throughout the year. As a trail pass vendor with the DNR, your organization is allowed to keep a percentage of the retail price of the pass as an issuance fee. This percentage is up to 10% for private vendors, 20% for Friends Groups and up to 70% for partners who are managers and operate a State Trail, such as a County.

As a vendor, you should be aware that:

- You must have an approved Trail Pass Sales Agreement with the DNR in place before ordering and selling trail passes.
- To get started, you are not required to be bonded or to pre-pay for trail passes or make any other investment to provide this service to your customers.
- You are required to complete a remit form with payment for any month that your sales accumulate \$100.00 or more.

If you are interested in becoming a Wisconsin State Trail Pass Vendor, or if you are a current vendor and have questions or need to place an order, you may reach us via email at DNRFWPPRSticker-PassOrders@wisconsin.gov.

^{*}Sales tax is included in the price of passes and is accounted for by the DNR.

SELLING STATE TRAIL PASSES

Trail passes are to be available for sale during all hours that your business or organization is open.

State Trail Passes are issued to the individual user (age 16 or over) and not the mode of conveyance. For example, tandem bicycle riders each require a pass and all horse or horse-carriage riders must have individual passes even though only one horse or carriage is involved. State Trail Passes are not transferable. For a listing of which trails require a State Trail Pass, please see the frequently asked questions on the state trail pass fee web page: http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/parks/trailpass.html. This web page also provides more information about the state trail pass, including how the money the state collects for the state trail pass is used.

Establish Age of Purchaser:

Passes are only required of people for 16 old or older.

Determine Type of Pass:

Determine whether the customer wants to purchase a daily or annual pass (if both are offered at your location).

Selling a Daily Trail Pass:

- a. All trail passes are individually numbered. Issue the trail passes in numerical order, this will keep your record keeping as simple as possible.
- b. With a thick black marker, write the date (month/date) on the daily pass. <u>Do not issue daily passes for past dates.</u> You can issue them for a future date. They are only good for the date on the pass.
- c. Collect \$5.00 per daily trail pass issued. (Sales tax is included in the price and is accounted for by the DNR.) Do not accept checks made out to the Department of Natural Resources. Checks, if you accept them, should be made out to you as the vendor. We will ONLY accept checks drawn against your bank account and payable to the DNR when you complete and submit your monthly remittance.
- d. The trail pass must be carried by the person at all times when using the trail. Please ask the customers to display the pass on their bike handlebar, saddle, or clothing, where the trail personnel will be able to see the dated pass. Displaying the pass will eliminate the need for staff to stop them along the trail to verify they have purchased the appropriate pass.

Selling an Annual Trail Pass:

- a. All trail passes are individually numbered. Issue the trail passes in numerical order, to keep your record keeping as simple as possible.
- b. Persons buying annual passes should fill out and sign the annual pass immediately. You (the vendor) sign the lower right corner and fill in the date issued. Trail passes must be completed and individually signed by the issuing agent/vendor using his or her name. Do not use a store name or rubber stamp.
- c. **Black ink** should be used to fill out the pass.
- d. The customer should not use nicknames when filling out the trail pass. Name as shown on the applicant's driver's license should be used.
- d. Always check to make sure the customer has filled out and signed the trail pass. Passes are not valid unless correctly filled out.
- e. Collect \$25.00 for the annual pass. Sales tax is included in the price and is accounted for by the DNR. Do not accept checks made out to the Department of Natural Resources. Checks, if you accept them, should be made out to you as the vendor. We will ONLY accept checks drawn against your bank account when you complete and submit your monthly remittance.

REMITTING YOUR SALES

How much do I remit?

Annual Trail Pass = \$25.00	Daily Trail Pass = \$5.00
County Vendor	Remit 30%
Friends Groups	Remit 80%
Private Vendor	Remit 90%

Remitting Throughout the Year: Send remit form & check directly to bank address.

At the end of any month when your accumulated sales equal or exceed \$100.00, you are required to remit your sales. Please complete Section A of your account specific <u>Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report Form 9300-124</u> when remitting. Staple or paperclip this form to your remittance check. Please do not send in a check without a remittance form to the bank or your check will be returned due to insufficient account information. We want to ensure that your account is maintained accurately and in a timely fashion.

Remits throughout the year should be sent directly to the bank address below for processing. No physical trail passes should ever be sent to this bank address:

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Park and Trail Pass Sales BOX 93388 Milwaukee, WI 53293-8388

Remitting Unsold Passes & Final Payment at End of Year: Send passes, remit form, and check to the WDNR Central Office.

This remitting process takes place at the end of your organization's selling season, or at the end of the year when all unsold trail passes must be returned for credit no later than December 31st. You must have a zero balance on your account before the following year's passes can be sent out. If you are wanting the upcoming year's inventory in time to sell on Black Friday in November (the first day of the new year's trail pass sales), you will need to return & remit your unsold passes no later than November 4th to allow time for processing and shipping. For the End-of-Year Return process, your unsold **annual** trail passes should be returned for credit, while unsold **daily** passes do not need to be returned every year since they do not have a year stamp. However, daily trail passes must be accounted for in Section C of the return form so that they can be "roll over" to the following year. You will be given credit for your unsold daily passes for the current year being closed out and they will be reassigned to the new year account.

Your End-of-Year Return package should include 1) all unsold **annual** passes, 2) a completed remit form with detailed quantities itemized on the <u>Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report¹ Form</u> 9300-124 Section C, and 3) a final payment bringing the account to a zero balance. All unsold passes should be returned via US mail, United Parcel Service, other private carrier, or delivered in person to:

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Park and Recreation Attn: EOY State Trail Pass Returns 101 South Webster St. PR/6 Madison, WI 53703

ORDERING MORE TRAIL PASSES THROUGHOUT THE YEAR

You have several options to order more trail passes throughout the year if you run low. It is important that you provide your organizations account number, pass type, and pass quantity with each order. Your passes will be sent to the address listed on your Trail Pass Sales Agreement. You must be available to sign for them. Order processing takes place Monday through Friday during regular business hours. Orders are not fulfilled on weekends.

•	Email:	DNRFWPPRStic	<u>ker-PassOrde</u>	<u>ers@wisconsi</u> i	<u>n.gov</u> email	l is the most	time efficient way	to

4

- order additional trail passes. The order mailbox is monitored Monday through Friday by our Trail Pass Business Team. Trail Pass orders are generally processed and shipped out within 48 business hours.
- Section B: Order Section on Remit Form: The remit form allows a section to write your order quantities in. The remit process can take 2-3 weeks before we receive it in our business office. This will greatly delay when you receive your passes. If time is of the essence, we recommend utilizing the email to place your order.

OTHER TRAIL PASS QUESTIONS/ACTIONS

What if a person fails to purchase a trail pass before using a state trail?

There is an additional \$5 fee for anyone who fails to purchase a State Trails Pass before using a trail that requires the fee.

Voiding A Trail Pass

Sometimes it is necessary to void a pass because a mistake has been made while filling it out. When a trail pass is voided, please write "void" and the date across the face of the trail pass, and the reason you are voiding it. Do not under any circumstances destroy a voided trail pass, since credit cannot be allowed for any trail pass that is not returned. Voided trail passes may be returned at any time. Credit will be issued for all returned voided trail passes. If another trail pass was issued to replace the voided trail pass, the number of the replacement trail pass should always be indicated on the voided pass. Include Voided passes in *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report* Section C, and to WDNR Central Office Trail Pass Return address. with unsold trail passes at the end of the year.

Duplicate Trail Passes

If a customer contacts you to say that they have lost or destroyed their trail pass and asks you for a replacement, inform them at this time duplicate trail passes are not available through private vendors. Note that Annual State Trail Passes state "Lost, stolen, or missing pass cannot be replaced." Annual trail passes are made out of Tyvek and are extremely difficult to accidentally destroy, so replacement requests should be limited. Anyone with further questions should be directed to contact the DNR.

Robberies, Burglaries or Fires

In the event of a robbery, burglary, or fire, with a loss of trail passes, immediately notify the DNR. A written police or fire report will be required prior to writing off the loss of the trail passes. Loss of revenue is not covered under our write-off policies as all revenues should be deposited daily and should be kept in a secure area prior to deposit.