Department of Natural Resources – Trail Pass Handbook updated 11/01/2021

Wisconsin State Trail Pass Vendor Handbook



As a State Trail Pass vendor, you offer a valuable service. The State Trail Pass gives your customers the opportunity to experience and enjoy many miles of DNR (Department of Natural Resources) bike, equestrian, in-line skating, and cross-country ski trails throughout Wisconsin. The State Trail Pass is required for all individuals age 16 or older who are in-line skating, roller skiing, roller blading, horseback riding, off-road motorcycling, bicycling, cross-country skiing, and using any other vehicle or means of conveyance (with the exception of snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles) on certain designated trails. Trail passes are not required for hiking, walking, or running, or for the physically disabled using wheelchairs (defined as pedestrians under Wisconsin State Statute 340.01(43)). Trail passes can be purchased at all state parks and trails that require the pass as well as at DNR Service Centers, in addition to a network of private retailers and counties who sell the passes.

There is an additional \$5 fee for anyone who fails to purchase a State Trails Pass before using a trail that requires the fee.

Please keep reading to find out all that you, or your staff, need to know to sell Wisconsin State Trail Passes. As you will see, it is a simple process.

State Trail Pass Prices

Annual Trail Pass: \$25 Daily Trail Pass: \$5

As a vendor, you should be aware that:

- You must have a signed contract (called a Trail Pass Sales Agreement) with the DNR in place before selling trail passes.
- As a trail pass vendor with the DNR, your organization is allowed to keep a percentage of the retail price of the pass as an issuance fee. This percentage is up to 10% for private vendors, 20% for Friends Groups and up to 70% for partners who are managers and operate a State Trail. The percentage your organization is allowed to keep will be listed in your Trail Pass Sales Agreement.
- No money down! To become a trail pass vendor all you must do is acknowledge and comply with the simple requirements spelled out in the Trail Pass Sales Agreement. You are not required to be bonded or to pre-pay for trail passes or make any other inventory investment to provide this service to your customers. The only requirements are:
 - You must maintain a simple sales record and remit sales to the DNR

<u>monthly</u>, or the end of any month when accumulated monthly sales equal or exceed \$100.00. You must balance your account with the DNR before a new year's passes will be distributed to you.

- Trail passes are to be available for sale during all hours that your organization is open.
- Sales tax is included in the price of passes and is accounted for by the DNR.
- If you have a question or comment related to trail pass sales, please call the Bureau of Parks and Recreation in Madison at (608) 266-2181 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Refer to the *Wisconsin State Park System Visitor's Guide* or website <u>dnr.wi.gov</u> for the phone numbers of the nearest state park, forest, recreation area, or trail if you have any questions when the Bureau office is closed.

Selling a State Trail Pass

State Trail Passes are issued to the individual user (age 16 or over) and not the mode of conveyance. For example, tandem bicycle riders each require a pass and all horse or horse-carriage riders must have individual passes even though only one horse or carriage is involved. State Trail Passes are not transferable. For a listing of which trails require a State Trail Pass, please see the frequently asked questions on the <u>state trail pass webpage</u>. This web page also provides more information about the state trail pass, including such information as how the money the state collects for the state trail pass is used.

Establish Age of Purchaser:

Passes are only required of people age 16 old or older.

Determine Type of Pass:

Determine whether the customer wants to purchase a daily or annual pass (if both are offered at your location).

Selling a Daily Trail Pass:

- a. All trail passes are individually numbered. Issue the trail passes in numerical order, this will keep your record keeping as simple as possible.
- b. With a thick black marker, write the date (month/date) on the daily pass. <u>Do not</u> <u>issue daily passes for past dates.</u> You can issue them for a future date. They are only good for the date on the pass.
- c. Collect \$5.00 per daily trail pass issued. (Sales tax is included in the price and is accounted for by the DNR.) Do not accept checks made out to the Department of Natural Resources. Checks, if you accept them, should be made out to you as the vendor. We will ONLY accept checks drawn against your bank account and payable to the DNR when you complete and submit your monthly remittance.

d. The trail pass must be carried by the person at all times when using the trail. Please ask the customers to display the pass on their bike handlebar, saddle, or clothing, where the trail personnel will be able to see the dated pass. Displaying the pass will eliminate the need for staff to stop them along the trail to verify they have purchased the appropriate pass.

Selling an Annual Trail Pass:

- a. All trail passes are individually numbered. Issue the trail passes in numerical order, to keep your record keeping as simple as possible.
- Persons buying annual passes should fill out and sign the annual pass immediately. You (the vendor) sign the lower right corner and fill in the date issued. Trail passes <u>must</u> be completed and individually signed by the issuing agent/vendor using his or her name. Do <u>not</u> use a store name or rubber stamp.
- c. Black ink should be used to fill out the pass.
- d. The customer should not use nicknames when filling out the trail pass. Name as shown on the applicant's driver's license should be used.
- d. Always check to make sure the customer has completely filled out and signed the trail pass. Passes are not valid unless correctly and completely filled out.
- e. Collect \$25.00 for the annual pass. Sales tax is included in the price and is accounted for by the DNR. Do not accept checks made out to the Department of Natural Resources. Checks, if you accept them, should be made out to you as the vendor. We will ONLY accept checks drawn against your bank account when you complete and submit your monthly remittance.

Voiding A Trail Pass

Sometimes it is necessary to void a pass because a mistake has been made while filling it out. When a trail pass is voided, please write "void" and the date across the face of the trail pass, and the reason you are voiding it. Do not under any circumstances destroy a voided trail pass, since credit cannot be allowed for any trail pass that is not returned. Voided trail passes may be returned at any time. Credit will be issued for all returned voided trail pass that are not completely filled out and/or are still retained in the trail pass book. If another trail pass was issued to replace the voided trail pass, the number of the replacement trail pass should always be indicated on the voided pass. Fill out the bottom section (part C) of Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report¹* and return the form with the voided trail passes to:

¹ Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report* was revised 10/15. Be sure to use that version of the form. The form is available on the internet: <u>http://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/forms/9300/9300-124.pdf</u>.

STATE OF WISCONSIN DNR Attention: Sheenu Burtis 101 South Webster St. PR/6 Madison, WI 53707

Always retain a copy of the form for your records. Voided trail passes may be remitted with unsold trail passes (see handbook section on **Unsold Trail Passes**). Be sure to include the name of the trail for which your passes are sold (usually the trail closest to your sales location – the map <u>located here</u> can help you find this out if you're unsure) and your vendor number on Form 9300-124.

Duplicate Trail Passes

If a customer contacts you to say that they have lost or destroyed their trail pass and asks you for a replacement, inform them at this time duplicate trail passes are not available through private vendors. Note that Annual State Trail Passes state "Lost, stolen, or missing pass cannot be replaced." Annual trail passes are made out of Tyvek and are extremely difficult to accidentally destroy, so replacement requests should be limited. Anyone with further questions should be directed to contact the DNR.

Robberies, Burglaries or Fires

In the event of a robbery, burglary or fire, with a loss of trail passes, immediately notify the DNR. A written police or fire report will be required prior to writing off the loss of the trail passes. Loss of revenue is not covered under our write-off policies as all revenues should be deposited daily and should be kept in a secure area prior to deposit.

Remitting Money

When you sign up as a trail pass vendor, you will be assigned an official agent name and account number by the DNR. So that we can properly track your account, always remember to list this number on all remittances and correspondence.

Once a month, or at the end of any month when your accumulated sales equal or exceed \$100.00, you are required to remit your sales. Simply record the quantity of annual or daily passes sold in section A of Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report*². Multiply the quantity of the trail passes sold by the amount of the trail pass less your percent commission.

² Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report* was revised 10/15. Be sure to use that version of the form. The form is available on the internet: <u>http://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/forms/9300/9300-124.pdf</u>.

Annual trail passes are remitted at the price of \$25.00 minus commission each, and daily trail passes

How much do I remit?

- Annual = \$25: 70% vendors = remit \$7.50, 20% = remit \$20, 10% = remit \$22.50
- Daily = \$5: 70% = remit \$1.50, 20% = remit \$4.00, 10% = remit \$4.50

are remitted at a price of \$5.00 minus commission each. Attach one check for the correct amount and mail it with the completed form to:

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES PARK AND TRAIL PASS SALES BOX 93388 MILWAUKEE WI 53293-8388

Be sure to include the name of the trail for which your passes are sold (usually the trail closest to your sales location – the map <u>located here</u> can help you find this out if you're unsure) and your vendor number on Form 9300-124. If you are located near more than one state trail, you may want to switch between trails. Always retain a copy of the form for your records.

Getting the Next Year's Trail Passes

In order to obtain the next year's trail passes, you must have a zero balance on your account for the previous year. This means you must remit all of the previous year's passes and pass money and bring your account balance to zero by remitting all unsold or voided passes (see handbook sections **Remitting Money** and **Unsold Trail Passes** for instructions) and the proceeds for all sold passes (see handbook section **Remitting Money** for instructions). <u>You will not be issued trail passes for the next year until your account is zeroed out.</u>

Trail passes for the following year are generally available in mid-November and may be sold beginning December 1. Then, make a remittance to close out the current year's account and order passes for the following year (specify that you want the following year's passes) using one of the methods detailed below in the section **Ordering More Trail Passes**. There will be a few days when you do not have any passes to sell, but as long as you have confirmed that the next year's passes are available, they should arrive and be ready to sell within about a week. Passes for the following year are honored throughout December of the preceding year so there should be no disadvantage to trail users and your account will be current and ready to go for the next year before the holiday season.

Ordering More Trail Passes

At any time you remit sales, you may order additional trail passes for the current year. Complete section B of Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report*³, indicating the amount of additional annual and/or daily trail passes that you need. Always retain a copy of the form for your records. Please note that additional trail passes will not be made available unless you have attached a remittance. If you are making regular remittances, you may also re-order passes by calling a 24-hour a day answering system at 608-267-7156. Please leave a message stating your account number and the number of books of annual and daily passes you would like to receive. ****For a faster ordering and receiving process we recommend you email with your request directly at :**

Sheenu.burtis@wisconsin.gov

- Annual State Trail passes come in books of 10.
- Daily State Trail passes come in books of 25.
- Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report* is available online: <u>http://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/forms/9300/9300-124.pdf</u>.

Unsold Trail Passes

Unsold trail passes must be returned for credit promptly at the close of the year, or earlier if you want the following year's passes early (see handbook section **Getting the Next Year's Trail Passes**), or at the close of your contract for which the trail passes were issued. Use section C of Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report⁴*, for this return. Always retain a copy of the form for your records. All unsold passes should be returned via US mail, United Parcel Service, or other private carrier, or delivered in person to:

STATE OF WISCONSIN DNR Attention: Sheenu Burtis 101 South Webster St. PR/6 Madison, WI 53707

Trail passes from previous years must be returned and/or paid for before shipment of any new year trail passes (see handbook section **Getting the Next Year's Trail Passes**). Unsold trail passes may be remitted with voided trail passes (see handbook section **Voided Trail Passes**).

³ Form 9300-124, *Trail Pass Order, Return and/or Sales Report* was revised 10/15. Be sure to use that version of the form. The form is available on the internet: <u>http://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/forms/9300/9300-124.pdf</u>.

⁴ Ibid.