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Updates to Wisconsin Solid Waste Management Fees Administrative Code 
 

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources has updated regulations affecting municipal solid 
waste and industrial landfills. Below is a summary of changes related to fees. To view complete rule 
changes, go to Wisconsin Legislature: CR 24-063. 
 
License fee surcharge changes 
The license fee surcharge is collected by landfills and paid to the DNR per ton of waste disposed of at a 
landfill. The fee will increase in three stages over the next 10 years. 
 

Effective date Amount per ton 
Through Dec. 31, 2025 $0.15 
Beginning Jan. 1, 2026 $0.25 
Beginning Jan. 1, 2031 $0.27 
Beginning Jan. 1, 2036 $0.30 

 
Review, inspection and licensing fee changes 
Chapter NR 520 Table 3, Wis. Adm. Code, includes several updated fees for municipal solid waste and industrial 
landfills. Existing fees will remain in effect through 2026, with increases in 2027 and 2028. 
 

Fee type Until  
Dec. 31, 2026 

Effective  
Jan. 1, 2027 Effective Jan. 1, 2028 

Feasibility report plan review (ch. NR 512) $22,000 $33,000 
$44,000 

$40,000 for vertical-
only expansion 

Plan of operation review (NR 514) $7,700 $16,500 
$22,000 

$20,000 for vertical-
only expansion 

Modification to previously approved plan of operation [NR 
514, and s. NR 520.04 (4) (h)] $1,650 $2,625 $3,500 

Expedited plan modification review (s. NR 514.09) $1,000 $1,750 No change 
Supplemental review [s. NR 520.04 (4) (i] $1,650 $2,625 $3,500 
Construction documentation report review (NR 516) $1,100 $2,250 $3,000 
Inspection fees, Including initial site inspections (NR 509) 
and construction Inspections (NR 516) $550 $900 $1,210 

Long-term care license [s. NR 520.04 (3)] $6,600 $7,700 No change 
 
Other codified changes effective Oct. 1, 2025 
• An applicant for initial licensing of a facility must pay the full annual license fee if the license is applied for 

mid-year during the license period.  
• The license fee surcharge does not apply to waste that was: 

o previously disposed of in a licensed landfill and is excavated and disposed of in another licensed 
landfill; 

o generated as a result of a natural disaster that meets statutorily designated criteria; or  
o created as a direct result of a one-time project paid for with state funds. 

• A landfill owner or operator must maintain an active operating license until all closure activities are 
complete and the DNR has issued a long-term care license, if applicable. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/chr/all/cr_24_063
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