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Report Hunting and Fishing Violations
Text or Call 1-800-TIP-WDNR (1-800-847-9367)

Toll Free • Statewide • 24-Hour • Confidential
(This is NOT a general information number)

                       Note: Sturgeon spearing regulations are found in the Winne-
bago System Sturgeon Spearing Regulations & Information pamphlet.
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS	

Hook and line, spearing, bow fishing (bow and arrow, crossbow), minnow trapping 
or taking fish by hand requires a fishing license, unless the person is a resident and otherwise 
exempted from purchasing a license (i.e., under 16 years old or residents born before 1/1/27). 
(Note: Nonresidents under the age of 16 do not need a license to fish with hook and line, but do 
need a license to spear, bowfish, net, trap, or take fish by hand. Nonresidents under the age of 
18 who have a parent that is a Wisconsin resident may obtain a fishing license at the resident 
fee).

Netting.  No fishing license is required for residents taking minnows, smelt or rough fish with a 
dip net, landing net or minnow seine.  All nonresidents, regardless of age, are required to have a 
Wisconsin nonresident fishing license for harvesting smelt or taking rough fish or minnows with 
dip nets, landing nets, seines, or minnow traps. 

Turtles.  A fishing, small game, sports, patron or resident setline, set/bank pole or commercial 
Mississippi River license is required for taking turtles, except for residents who are exempt from 
purchasing a license. Nonresidents of any age need to have a license, unless under age 16 and 
only taking turtles by hook and line.

Crayfish and Frogs. A fishing, small game, sports,  or patron license is required to take cray-
fish, except for residents who are exempt from purchasing a fishing license.  Sales of crayfish or 
frogs for fish bait requires a bait dealers license. Nonresidents may not sell crayfish or frogs for 
fishing bait in Wisconsin. Frogs may be taken and possessed without a license. 

Leeches and aquatic insects. No license is required except a DNR permit may be required for 
dredging depending on the method, location, and amount of bottom material disturbed. Search 
for “water management specialist” at dnr.wi.gov for additional information. 

Minnow harvest and sales. A wild bait harvest permit is required to harvest minnows and 
transport them away from any water of the state live. A bait dealer license is required to sell min-
nows or to possess over 600 minnows unless the person is exempted as a resident under 16 years 
of age who can sell less than $500 annually and can have up to 5000 of each species.  Because of 
the VHS fish virus, minnows may not be collected in VHS-affected waters and minnows from other 
locations must be health certified before sale. Non-residents may not sell minnows for fishing 
bait. Check the DNR web site for further details about bait harvest and sales regulations.  

Rough fish sales. Rough fish may only be sold to the final consumer unless the seller is licensed 
as a wholesale fish dealer or commercial fisher. Netted suckers taken with dipnets, landing nets or 
seines may not be sold. Non-residents may not sell smelt or minnows (including suckers).

What is a minnow or rough fish? By Wisconsin law, minnows include  suckers, mudminnow, 
madtoms, stonecat, killifish, stickleback, trout perch, darters, sculpins, and all species in the 
minnow family (except goldfish and carp). Rough fish include suckers not listed as threatened 
or endangered, common carp, Asian carp (bighead, black, silver and grass), goldfish, redhorse, 
freshwater drum, burbot, bowfin, gar, buffalo, lamprey, alewife, gizzard shad, smelt, mooneye, 
and carpsuckers. 
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GENERAL RESTRICTIONS

YOU MAY NOT:

u	transport water in boats, vehicles, trailers, containers, fishing equipment, or gear 
of any type when leaving any state waters, banks or shores, or entering Wisconsin over 
land for use on any water of this state.  This does not apply to any drinking water or up to 
2 gallons of water being used to hold minnows purchased from a Wisconsin bait dealer 
or registered fish farm, which can be legally transported.

u	transport or operate any vehicle, boat, trailer, or object of any kind on any public 
roadway with any aquatic plants or animals attached. Immediately after leaving any 
waterbody and before leaving any landing or associated parking area, you must remove 
all attached aquatic plants or animals. 

u	transport any live fish or live fish eggs away from any state waters.  There is an 
exception for minnows obtained from a Wisconsin bait dealer or registered fish farm. 
These minnows may be transported away live and used again:

	 •  on the same water, or
	 •  on any other waters if not exposed to any lake or river water, and no other 		
	 fish were added to their container.

u	use or possess any fish trap or trammel, cast, gill, or hoop net, or any other kind of 
fishing net that might take, catch or kill fish except areas where it is specifically autho-
rized. Cast nets are illegal to possess or use on any state water, except for taking suckers 
on Wisconsin/Iowa boundary waters.
	
u	possess or control any bow and arrow, spear, atlatl (spear and thrower) or similar 
device on or along any water that might be used to take, catch, or kill fish except where 
authorized during the specified open season for rough fish. 
	
u	use firearms, explosives, air guns, or poisons for disturbing or taking any fish.
	
u	fish with nets, traps, seines, spears (including bow and arrow, crossbow) or by hand 
in refuges, other closed  areas or trout streams (except it is legal to take rough fish by 
hand in a trout stream). Rough fish may be taken by hand year-round or by hand-held 
spear June 1 to August 31 where spearing is allowed within 200 feet of a fishway, lock 
or dam. Note: An atlatl (spear and thrower) does not meet the definition of a hand-held 
spear and would not be allowed.
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u	possess a hand-held spear, or other spear, within 200 feet of a dam, lock or fishway 
on any boundary waters.

u	fish with hook and line from a boat while in possession of a dip net.

u	leave any dip net or seine unattended within 25’ of the edge of the water.
	
u	fish in any other manner while operating a dip net or seine .

u	have in possession any threatened or endangered species without a permit from 
the department. These include but are not limited to: some species of fish, frogs, mus-
sels, and turtles. See the DNR website, dnr.wi.gov, for more listed species information.

u	cut, use, or maintain an ice hole larger than 12 inches in diameter or square for 
the taking of fish in any manner through the ice except taking fish with dip nets or skin 
or scuba diving, taking minnows with minnow traps, spearing on Lake Superior, or 
sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago system waters.

u take catfish by hand with the aid of artificial nests or spawning boxes, ropes, 
gaffes, hooks, grapples or similar equipment for snagging catfish, or breathing devices 
including snorkel or SCUBA gear.

u	To take rough fish and catfish by any method from September 15 through Decem-
ber 31 in Lake Michigan tributaries, major Green Bay tributaries, and all other tributary 
streams and ditches to Green Bay upstream to the first dam or lake from one-half hour 
after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise.

SPEARING RESTRICTIONS

Spearing is defined as fishing with a device consisting of a shaft with an attached sharp, 
barbed point or points and includes spears, bow and arrow, crossbow, spear guns, atlatls 
and other similar devices. 

u	No person shall have under his control any spear or similar device in any enclosure 
on the ice or waters of the Embarrass River in Shawano County from the Pella Dam 
downstream; the Wolf River from Shawano Dam downstream to the Fox River and on 
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the ice of the Fox River from Johnson Creek in Green Lake County downstream through 
Lake Winnebago and all connecting lakes of both streams except when authorized dur-
ing established sturgeon spearing season.

u	Spearing ice hole restriction: No person may cut, use, or maintain an ice hole larger 
than 12 inches in diameter or square for the taking of fish in any manner through the  
ice except spearing on Lake Superior, skin or scuba diving, or sturgeon spearing on the 
Lake Winnebago system.

u	There may be local public safety ordinances that prohibit the use of a bow and 
arrow or crossbow in some areas. Please check with your local law enforcement office for 
further information.

u	Spearing by methods other than bow and arrow or crossbow is restricted to sunrise 
to sunset on all waters, and only during the open season for spearing rough fish on 
those waters.

Spearing Bag Limits: There are no bag limits on rough fish, except the limit for suckers is 
600.

FISHING WITH BOW AND ARROW or CROSSBOW

YOU MAY NOT:

u	Take rough fish or catfish with a bow and arrow 
or crossbow unless the arrow is equipped with a metal 
barbed tip that is attached to the bow with a tethered 
line that allows for the retrieval of the arrow and the fish. 

u	Release or return any rough fish or catfish taken 
with a bow and arrow or crossbow, whether dead or 
alive, to any waters of the state. 

u	Leave any rough fish or catfish taken with a bow and 
arrow or crossbow, whether dead or alive, on the ice or 
banks of any waters of the state. 
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** See “Waters closed to spearing” 
on Page 9 for an exception.

* Except Winnebago 
System waters, 
which close 
February 1

Statewide Spearing Seasons

Check with local authorities for 
ordinances affecting possession 
or use of bows and spears.

Spearing 
prohibited**

Continuous 
season*

Wisconsin/Iowa 
Boundary Waters: 
Continuous season

Wisconsin/
Minnesota 
Boundary 
Waters: Saturday 
nearest April 21 
to March 1

All tributaries to 
Lake Michigan 
have a continuous 
season.

u	Violate local ordinances that prohibit the discharge of bow and arrow or crossbow 
within their area of jurisdiction. Check for local ordinances on the use of bow and arrow 
or crossbow within city, town, or village limits. 

LEGAL HOURS:  On all inland, outlying, and boundary waters with an open season for 
spearing rough fish or catfish, the taking of rough fish with a bow and arrow or crossbow 
on that body of water is allowed at any time of day, including from sunset to sunrise dur-
ing that open season.  Lights, including laser sights, are legal to use at night for spearing 
rough fish or catfish with a bow and arrow or crossbow.
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Underwater Spear Fishing: 
It is lawful to take the following fish species with the use of spears and spear guns by 
skin and scuba diving in all waters where spearing for rough fish is permitted from 
sunrise to sunset during the listed spearing seasons: white bass, yellow bass, rock bass, 
crappie, bluegill, perch, pumpkinseed (sunfish) and bullheads provided that the season 
for these species is also open on the same water. Daily bag limits and length restrictions 
also apply. 

ROUGH FISH SPEARING SEASONS 
(Refer to map on page 7)

It is lawful during specified open seasons for any person to take rough fish by means of 
spears, bow and arrow or crossbow, and spear guns and spears while skin and scuba div-
ing, unless otherwise specified, in the inland waters or from the shores of inland waters 
excluding trout streams as follows:

Continuous Season: There is a continuous open season for spearing rough fish in all coun-
ties except Ashland, Bayfield, Forest, Iron, Menominee, Oneida, Price, Sawyer and Vilas 
counties, and for all Lake Winnebago System waters (see below). 

*April 21 to February 1: All Lake Winnebago System waters ( includes Poygan, Win-
neconne, Butte des Morts, and Winnebago and all their tributaries from their mouths 
upstream to the first dam including the Fox river from Lake Winnebago upstream to the 
dam above Princeton and all its tributaries from their mouths upstream to the first dam; 
the Wolf river from its mouth upstream to the dam in the city of Shawano and all its 
tributaries from their mouths upstream to the first dam including Cincoe lake, Partridge 
Crop lake and Partridge lake in Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Outaga-
mie, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago counties).
December 15 to January 31 : Burbot may be speared sunset to sunrise only in the Amni-
con and Nemadji Rivers and the Black River upstream to the Soo Line Bridge in Douglas 
County and the Bad River, Ashland County.

Waters Closed to Spearing: No person shall have in his possession or under his control on 
any of the inland waters or shores of inland waters at any time any spear or similar de-
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vice that might be used for the purpose of taking, catching or killing fish in the counties 
of Ashland (except in the Bad River where burbot may be taken by means of spears from 
sunset to sunrise December 15 to January 31 inclusive), Bayfield, Forest, Iron, Menomi-
nee, Oneida, Price, Sawyer and Vilas counties and the Menominee River in Florence and 
Marinette counties.

Exception: Saturday nearest May 20 to July 1: Rough fish may be taken with bow 		
and arrow or crossbow only in Fish Creek Slough (Bayfield Co.) from its mouth		
to the junction of North and South Fish Creeks.

SPEARING AND NETTING IN BOUNDARY AND OUTLYING WATERS

Wisconsin/Minnesota and Wisconsin/Iowa boundary waters: It is unlawful for any 
person to use a spear, bow and arrow, crossbow, atlatl or similar device in any manner 
at any time for the purpose of taking, catching or killing any gamefish of any variety 
(except for catfish; see catfish bow and hand fishing regulations on p. 10), or to have in 
possession or under control any fish spear or spring gaff in a fish house (shanty).

Wisconsin/Minnesota boundary waters: Rough fish spearing season: Saturday nearest 
April 21 to March 1; Rough fish may be taken by means of spears, bow and arrow, or 
crossbow sunrise to sunset only except for bow and arrow and crossbow, which may also 
be used on the Wisconsin side of the river from sunset to sunrise. 

Wisconsin/Iowa boundary waters: Rough fish spearing season: Continuous open season. 
Rough fish may be taken by means of spears, bow and arrow, or crossbow sunrise to 
sunset only except for bow and arrow and crossbow, which may also be used from sunset 
to sunrise. Cast nets no larger than 7 feet in diameter or mesh of more than 1/2” stretch measure 
may be used to take suckers only.

Wisconsin/Michigan boundary waters: There is no open season for spearing on the Wisconsin/
Michigan boundary waters.

Outlying Waters — Lake Superior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay, Sturgeon Bay, Sawyer’s Harbor and 
the Fox River from its mouth up to the dam at De Pere:  

v	 It is unlawful to spear any game fish except that white bass, yellow bass, rock bass, panfish 
and bullheads may be speared while skin diving or scuba diving during the open season for 
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rough fish spearing, provided that the season for white bass, yellow bass, rock bass, panfish and 
bullheads is also open on the same water. 
v	 Northern pike may be speared through the ice in Lake Superior. 
v	 Taking rough fish by bow and arrow or crossbow is also allowed from sunset to sunrise on 
outlying waters.

HARVESTING FLATHEAD or CHANNEL CATFISH AND
BULLHEADS BY BOW AND ARROW, CROSSBOW or BY HAND	
	
Bow or Crossbow. - Channel and flathead catfish and bullheads can be harvested with 
a bow or crossbow during the open season for spearing rough fish (so in most cases, 
continuously), except in waters with an existing season (or fish refuge). In waters with 
a specific hook and line season or minimum length limit, those restrictions would apply 
for bowfishing as well. 

By Hand. - Channel and flathead catfish and bullheads can be harvested by hand from 
June 1 – August 31.  Gear such as hooks, poles, grapples, gaffes, artificial nests/spawn-
ing boxes, snorkel or SCUBA gear are prohibited – anglers may only use their hands.  
In waters with a minimum length limit for hook and line fishing, that limit would apply 
for handfishing as well.

Boundary waters. - Channel and flathead catfish and bullheads may be taken by bow, 
crossbow or by hand only on the Wisconsin side of the waters and only if the season 
is open for spearing rough fish (see p. 9).  For reciprocity, that means Minnesota, Iowa 
and Michigan licensed anglers could go into Wisconsin waters and take catfish by these 
methods, but Wisconsin anglers could not go into the other state’s waters and use these 
methods, even though they can hook and line fish under the reciprocity rules.

General limits. - Daily bag limit - Channel catfish - 5, Flathead catfish - 1, Bullheads 
- none.
Length limit - none

No commercial fishing for catfish or bullheads with these methods is allowed (Note: 
guided fishing trips for the purpose of taking catfish, bullheads or rough fish with a bow, 
crossbow or by hand are legal).
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Exceptions to the general limits:

Water(s) Special Regulations
Lower Wisconsin River from Prairie du Sac 
Dam to the US Highway 12 bridge

The bow/crossbow season runs from the May 
2, 2020 to Nov. 30, 2020. The general hand 
fishing season dates apply.

Waters of Green Lake and Marquette counties,
Lake Winnebago system waters

•  Bow/crossbow season runs from May 23, 
2020 to Sept. 30, 2020. The general hand 
fishing season dates apply.
•  The flathead and channel catfish bag limit 
for bow/crossbow and hand harvest is 5 in 
total but only 1 may be a flathead catfish 
regardless of method of harvest.
•  There is no length limit, except for flathead 
catfish, where the minimum length limit is 30 
inches and catfish from 36 to 42 inches may 
not be kept.
•  For bullheads on Lake Winnebago System 
waters, the bow/crossbow season runs from 
April 21, 2020 to February 1, 2021 and the 
general hand fishing season dates apply. 
There are no length or bag limits. 

Tributaries, streams, rivers and ditches to 
Green Bay upstream to the first dam or lake

•  Bow/crossbow season runs May 2, 2020 to
March 7, 2021. The general hand fishing 
season dates apply.
•  For bullheads, the bow/crossbow season is
continuous on major Green Bay tributaries.

WI/MN boundary waters The bow/crossbow season runs from April 18,
2020 to March 1, 2021. The general hand fish-
ing dates apply.

For the application of the catfish rules by specific water, season and length limit, see the 
Guide to Wisconsin Hook and Line Fishing Regulations, 2020-2021 .
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NETTING

A Dip Net is a net suspended from a round or square frame but up to 8 
ft. in diameter or square and designed to be raised and lowered verti-
cally to take rough fish or minnows.

A Landing Net is a net suspended on a frame with an attached  handle 
that is used to help an angler in landing a fish caught with hook and 
line. Landing nets may also be used to take rough fish where authorized 
to use dip nets to take rough fish. 

A Seine is a net made of circular, square, or long webbing of 
course twine fitted with floats on the top and sinkers on the bot-
tom. The net forms a bag near the center that entraps fish as it is 
pulled through the water.  Seines may be used to take minnows, 
whitefish and cisco, and smelt on some waters.

NETTING RESTRICTIONS
IT IS ILLEGAL: 

u	To take any fish, other than smelt, from Lake Superior, its bays and tributaries, the St. Louis 
River, and the Montreal River downstream from the Superior Falls dam with traps and nets. 

u	To have in possession at any time any kind of net or nets or fish trap except landing net, 
minnow seines and traps, whitefish and cisco seines, dip nets (may only be set or used from 
sunrise to sunset), crayfish traps and turtle traps in the following counties: Adams, Barron, 
Burnett, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond du 
Lac, Forest, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, Langlade, Lincoln, 
Marathon, Marquette, Monroe, Oneida, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Price, Richland, Rock, Rusk, 
Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, 
Waushara, Winnebago, and Wood or to have in possession or under control any basket traps (slat 
nets), trammel nets, or wooden traps in Buffalo, Burnett, La Crosse, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix, 
Trempealeau and Vernon (Minnesota boundary waters).

DIP NETS FOR ROUGH FISH

There is no bag or possession for rough fish taken by dipnetting except the limit for suckers is 
600. No suckers taken with dip nets or seines may be sold or bartered in any manner. 
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No person, while operating a dip net for rough fish, shall fish for fish in any other manner at 
that time and no person shall fish with hook and line from any boat while in possession of a dip 
net, whether in use or not. Only one dip net per person is permitted to take smelt and minnows.  
Such dip nets must be attended at all times while in use and such nets shall only be raised and 
lowered vertically when fishing.

Frame Dip Nets: Frame dip nets for rough fish shall not exceed 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square 
unless otherwise specified. One frame dip net per person may be used all year to take rough fish 
at any time in Marinette and Oconto counties in all streams flowing into Green Bay from a point 
200 feet upstream from the mouth and extending 15 miles inland in a straight line, except in the 
Menominee River where dip nets for rough fish and smelt may be used at any time from April 1 
to May 14. It shall be unlawful to use any dip net in that part of the Menominee River beginning 
at the upstream side of the Hattie Street Bridge in Marinette and extending upstream to the first 
dam and within 200 feet below all other dams. Frame dip nets used in Menominee River shall 
not exceed 9 feet square or 9 feet in diameter, making a bag when lifted not more than 4 feet 
deep.

One frame dip net per person may be used all year to take rough fish in all the nondesignated 
trout streams and rivers, excluding lakes, flowing into Lake Michigan and Green Bay in the coun-
ties of Brown, Door, Kenosha, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine and Sheboy-
gan in that part of each such stream or river beginning at the mouth and extending upstream to 
a point 500 feet below the first dam located on such stream or river.

One frame dip net per person may be used sunrise to sunset, from May 1 to March 15, to take 
rough fish except suckers, in that part of the Fond du Lac River in Fond du Lac County beginning 
at its mouth and extending upstream 3 miles.

One frame dip net per person may be used from April 25 to May 31 for the removal of rough fish 
from that part of Lake Winnebago within a distance of 500 feet from the shoreline of Calumet 
County.

The use of dip nets not more than 2 feet in diameter or 2 feet square to take rough fish in the St. 
Croix River downstream to the St. Croix Falls Dam, Polk County is permitted from the Saturday 
nearest May 15 to June 30.

Except in Lake Superior, its bays and tributaries, one dip net not exceeding 8 feet in diameter 
or 8 feet square may be used in all other inland and outlying waters except designated trout 
streams at any time of the year, sunrise to sunset, to take rough fish with no bag or possession 
limit, except the limit for suckers is 600.

NETS FOR SMELT

Smelt taken by nonresidents can not be sold, traded, or bartered in any manner.
Smelt may be taken by same methods and in accordance with seasons and location restrictions 
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for taking other rough fish (see page 12). In addition, smelt may be taken with dip nets and 
seines as follows: 

Frame dip nets not exceeding 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used all year with-
out hour restrictions for taking smelt in Lake Michigan and all the streams flowing into Lake 
Michigan and Green Bay beginning at the lake or bay and extending upstream to 500 feet below 
the first dam. They may be used 5 miles inland from the mouth on streams which have no dam 
except the Fox River in Brown County from 500 feet below the dam at De Pere.

Seines not more than 75 feet in length and not more than 6 feet in depth may be used at any 
time during the day or night for taking smelt from April 1 to May 25 in Lake Superior, Lake 
Michigan, Green Bay and most outlying waters except that portion of the Fox River in Brown 
County from the dam in the city of DePere downstream 1,500 feet. Seines of this dimension may 
be used for taking smelt in St. Louis Bay, Superior Bay, Allouez Bay and from the mouth of the St. 
Louis River upstream to the north 28th St. landing in Douglas County. Seines of this dimension 
may also be used at any time all year for taking smelt in Beaver Dam Lake,  Barron County.

Frame dip nets not exceeding 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used without hour 
restrictions from April 1 to May 25 for taking smelt in Lake Superior and all streams flowing into 
Lake Superior in Ashland, Bayfield, and Iron counties and the Brule River in Douglas County, from 
the mouth of each stream, inland for one-half mile in a straight line. Zoning does not apply on 
Bear Creek, Bluff Creek, the Nemadji River, the St. Louis River, and Amnicon River and the other 
nontrout streams in Douglas County, and in the waters of the Chippewa, Bad River (upstream to 
Copper Falls) and White Rivers in Ashland County not designated as trout stream or on streams 
where active sea lamprey control structures are located.

Dip nets not exceeding 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used without hour restrictions 
to take smelt in Lake Lucerne, Forest County; the Flambeau lake chain, Vilas County, including 
thoroughfares and tributary streams 200 feet upstream and downstream from the lake basins. 
The open and closed seasons shall be at the directive of the Regional Director.

Nets for Whitefish and Cisco

Frame dip nets not more than 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used at any time of 
day to take whitefish and cisco in inland waters (except Lake Lucerne in Forest County) from the 
Saturday nearest October 10 to February 1. The possession limit of whitefish or cisco so taken is 
10 fish in total.

Dip nets and seines may be used at any time of the day to take whitefish and cisco from Keyes 
Lake in Florence County from the Saturday nearest October 10 to January 15 with a daily bag 
limit of 3 fish.
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Seines not to exceed 75 feet in length and a depth not greater than 6 feet and with a mesh not 
to exceed 2 inches stretch measure may be used at any time of the day to take whitefish and 
cisco in inland waters (except Lake Lucerne in Forest County) from the Saturday nearest October 
10 to February 1. The possession limit of whitefish or cisco is 10 fish in total. Palette Lake in Vilas 
County: Permit required. 

Note: A fishing license is required for residents age 16 and older and nonresidents regardless of age 
to take whitefish and cisco.

Nets and Traps for Minnows

It is illegal to take live, wild-harvested minnows (including suckers) away from a waterbody 
unless authorized under a wild bait harvest permit. 

It is illegal for anyone to possess more than 600 minnows (including suckers) except licensed 
bait dealers and residents younger than 16 years old and doing business as a bait dealer. Resi-
dents more than 16 years old must have a bait dealer’s license to sell minnows, crayfish, or frogs 
for bait. Residents under 16 years old and doing business as a bait dealer can possess no more 
than 5,000 of each species and can sell less than $500 worth annually without a bait dealer’s 
license. It is illegal for nonresidents to sell minnows, crayfish, or frogs as bait.  

Location Restrictions
NO minnow species may be netted or trapped in Lake Superior, Lake Michigan and Green Bay, 
the Winnebago System (including Wolf and Fox River systems), Mississippi River and 
Wisconsin River up to the Prairie du Sac Dam, including all waters connected to these waters 
upstream to the first barrier impassable to fish (see the VHS pages on the DNR website - dnr.
wi.gov -  for an up-to-date list of VHS waters). (Exception: Up to 600 suckers may be harvested 
from these waters but may not leave the water alive).  You may not set, use or operate any net, 
trap or similar device for the taking of minnows on the waters listed above, with the exception of 
suckers as noted above.  

Other Restrictions
Unless you have a permit from the DNR, you may not use minnow seines or minnow dip nets of 
any type or description in inland trout streams or tributary spring ponds. During the open
trout season, people who do not possess a bait dealer’s license can’t use more than three min-
now traps to collect or harvest minnows from trout streams. 

Bait minnows may be harvested, where allowed, by the following methods only:
•	 Hook and line.
•	 With seines no more than 35 feet long with a mesh no larger than one-half inch stretch 		
measure in inland waters. Fifty-foot lengths of seine may be used in Minnesota and 			 
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Iowa boundary waters.
•	 With dip nets no more than eight feet in diameter or square.
•	 With traps no more than 24 inches long and 16 inches in diameter or square with a 		
	 throat measuring one-and-a-half inches or less. All traps must bear their owner’s name 		
	 and address or DNR Customer ID number and be emptied at least once every 48 hours.		
	 Minnows traps on trout streams must be checked and emptied at least once every 24 		
	 hours.  

Minnows and Individual Angler Harvest
Personal harvest of minnows is limited to locations where harvest is not restricted (see page 14) 
and only for use as bait on the water where they were harvested.  These minnows can never be 
transported away from the bank or shore of the water alive.  They may be kept in a live box or 
other container on that water for future use.  Wild bait harvest permits are not available to per-
sons other than bait dealers. Anglers are allowed to use up to 3 minnow traps in trout streams 
during the open trout season.

Minnows and Bait Dealer Harvest
A wild bait harvest permit is required for all licensed bait dealers to harvest wild minnows.  
These permits include a number of conditions that must be met including gear disinfection 
and fish health inspections.  Full details concerning wild bait harvest can be found on the DNR’s 
website, dnr.wi.gov.

Bait dealers are allowed no more than 20 minnow traps on trout streams during the open trout 
season, unless they possess a non-standard gear permit issued by the department.

Frogs

Season: The open season for taking frogs is the Saturday nearest May 1 to December 31.

It is unlawful to take frogs by firearms or airguns.

Possession Limit: 5 of each species (not Threatened or Endangered  - see list at dnr. wi.gov), 
except there is no limit on the number that can be possessed which are collected and possessed 
for up to 24 hours for fishing bait.

Frogs may be sold for fish bait only under a bait dealers license. It is illegal to sell frogs for 
purposes other than fishing bait (except northern leopard frogs may be sold as authorized under 
a  Class A captive wild animal farm license).  
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	 and address or DNR Customer ID number and be emptied at least once every 48 hours.		
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	 hours.  
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Personal harvest of minnows is limited to locations where harvest is not restricted (see page 14) 
and only for use as bait on the water where they were harvested.  These minnows can never be 
transported away from the bank or shore of the water alive.  They may be kept in a live box or 
other container on that water for future use.  Wild bait harvest permits are not available to per-
sons other than bait dealers. Anglers are allowed to use up to 3 minnow traps in trout streams 
during the open trout season.

Minnows and Bait Dealer Harvest
A wild bait harvest permit is required for all licensed bait dealers to harvest wild minnows.  
These permits include a number of conditions that must be met including gear disinfection 
and fish health inspections.  Full details concerning wild bait harvest can be found on the DNR’s 
website, dnr.wi.gov.

Bait dealers are allowed no more than 20 minnow traps on trout streams during the open trout 
season, unless they possess a non-standard gear permit issued by the department.

Frogs

Season: The open season for taking frogs is the Saturday nearest May 1 to December 31.

It is unlawful to take frogs by firearms or airguns.

Possession Limit: 5 of each species (not Threatened or Endangered  - see list at dnr. wi.gov), 
except there is no limit on the number that can be possessed which are collected and possessed 
for up to 24 hours for fishing bait.

Frogs may be sold for fish bait only under a bait dealers license. It is illegal to sell frogs for 
purposes other than fishing bait (except northern leopard frogs may be sold as authorized under 
a  Class A captive wild animal farm license).  

Crayfish

Season: 	Wisconsin/Minnesota Boundary Waters - May 1 to the following March 1
		       Remainder of State - Continuous open season.

u	No person may possess live crayfish and angling equipment at the same time on any water 
except the Mississippi River, Lake Superior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay, Sturgeon Bay, Sawyer’s 
Harbor and the Fox River from its mouth up to De Pere Dam. Rusty crayfish are a restricted inva-
sive species and may be transported for control or disposal if no individuals or eggs are allowed 
to escape. Rusty crayfish taken from the Mississippi River can be used on the Mississippi River 
only. Go to dnr.wi.gov and search “fishing regulations”.

u	Must possess a valid fishing license or small game license, except persons under the age of 
16 do not need a license. 

Crayfish traps placed in trout streams shall conform to the dimensions of minnow traps. See Nets 
and Traps for Minnows (page 14).

Crayfish scoops may be used in the Wisconsin/Minnesota boundary waters provided the scoops 
do not exceed 4 feet in length, 3 feet in width and 18 inches in depth attached to a handle not to 
exceed 4 feet in length.

Crayfish may be taken in all waters by the following means only: By hand, by use of minnow 
seines and minnow dip nets, where the same are permitted for the taking of minnows, and by 
crayfish traps (other than in trout streams) with the entrance to the trap not to exceed 2-1/2 
inches at the greatest diagonal measurement. Crayfish traps used on trout streams must comply 
with minnow trap size restrictions (see page 15). Traps must bear the name and address or 
DNR Customer ID number of the owner and must be raised and emptied at least once each day 
following the day set.

Parts of fish and fish by-products including fish meal or prepared parts of such fish may not be 
used for bait unless: the fish were caught from the water being trapped, are minnows obtained 
from a bait dealer, or are used with written authorization from the DNR. Other meats (e.g., 
chicken and beef livers) may be used for bait for crayfish.

Floats or markers used to locate traps 1) may not exceed 5 inches in size, 2) may not extend more 
than 4 inches above the water surface, 3) must clearly display the name and address or the DNR 
Customer ID number (in the English language) of the owner or operator, and 4) must not be 
orange or any other fluorescent color. 
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Turtles

All residents and non-residents who collect, attempt to collect, or possess native Wisconsin 
turtles must possess a valid approval that authorizes the hunting of small game or fishing, 
unless otherwise exempted from the need for either of these types of licenses because of age. 
Some species are protected and may not be harvested. Residents under the age of 16 do not 
need a license but must comply with seasons, size and possession limits.

These regulations apply to native Wisconsin turtle species, regardless of their origin.

The open turtle season runs from July 15 through November 30. 

Turtles or turtle eggs may not be taken during the closed season. Ornate Box, Wood, and Bland-
ing’s turtles may not be taken or possessed without an Endangered Species permit. 

Persons may collect or possess up to 5 individuals of each species with the following exceptions:

u	The possession limit for snapping turtles and softshell turtles is 3 each statewide. The one 
exception is the Mississippi River, where the possession limit is 10 for snapping turtles and 5 for 
softshell turtles.  The possession limit is not more than 5 total for all other species combined.

Possession Limit for Turtles

		  WI-IA/WI-MN 	 Inland
Species 	 Boundary Waters 	 Waters

Snapping 	 10 	 3
Softshell 	 5 	 3
Others 	 5 in total  	 5 in total

u	Licensed bait dealers and registered fish farmers may possess more than 5 specimens of 
any unprotected amphibian species which are collected or possessed as part of a bait collection 
or shipment.

 u	It is illegal to sell native amphibians and reptiles, except persons with a Class A Captive 
Wild Animal Farm license may sell:

	 •  Eastern tiger salamanders, mudpuppies, and northern leopard frogs collected in 		
	 state may be sold.

	 •  Native amphibians and reptiles collected outside the state may be sold out of 			 
	 state, or to education and research institutions in state. 
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Legally harvested dead turtles and their parts may be sold during the open season only. A 
license is not needed to sell dead turtle parts during the open season.

Size Limits:

Snapping turtle size limits are a 12-inch minimum 
and a 16-inch maximum carapace (top shell straight 
front to back) length. There are no size limits for other 
turtles. 

u	Turtles may be taken by hand, dip net, hook and 
line, set line, set or bank poles, hooking, or hoop net 
trap (see allowed design below). No other trap types 
are allowed. 

u	Set or bankpoles and setlines used for turtle harvest must be licensed, tagged and used in 
compliance with rules on the use of these lines for fishing. See the Guide to Wisconsin Setline, 
Set and Bank Pole Regulations, 2016-2017 for details. 

u	Turtles may not be taken by hook and line from trout streams during the closed trout 
season.

u	The number of hoop traps that can be operated are 10 in Iowa-Wisconsin or Minnesota-
Wisconsin boundary waters and 3 in all other waters of the state.

Hoop net trap specifications: Traps must be made of stretchable fabric (e.g., nylon) and 
must have a minimum mesh stretch of 6 inches. No wire mesh is allowed. Each trap must have 
a metal tag showing the name and address of the operator attached, and must be visible above 
the water’s surface. The operator identified on the trap tag is the only person authorized to tend 
these traps. Traps must be set with the hoops exposed a minimum of two inches above the 
water’s surface. Turtle traps must be checked and the entrapped contents removed at least once 
each day after the day they are set in all waters. 

Single Entrance Hoop Trap

No less than 2" 
above water surface

Water surface

Name tag

front to back

6" minimum mesh 
stretch (knot to knot)




